Legend
¤  Home
¤  PaulzyBlog
¤  Photillium Media Gallery
¤  .netBoard! Forum Index
¤  View posts since last visit
¤  View your posts
¤  View unanswered posts
.netBoard!

Home|Blog|Gallery
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 
Dreamcast BBA (Braodband Adpater) with a DLink Router

Post new topic   Reply to topic    .netBoard! Forum Index -> Open Discussion for Dreamcast View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dreamcast BBA (Braodband Adpater) with a DLink Router
Author Message
paulzy
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 290
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Jan 13, 2006 2:10 pm    Post subject: Dreamcast BBA (Braodband Adpater) with a DLink Router Reply with quote
 
After five years I finally figure out how to get my Dreamcast online successfully qith DSL using Phantasy Star Online (NTSC version). Well, not exactly five years, I mean i did get online with it last year for Unreal Tournament. But by then noone was playing and moved on. Right now I finally got it connect with phantasy Star Online v.2 -- but of course no server to connect to. sigh..If I only had a PAL copy of PSO.

But nobody going to sell theirs. Oh well.

The trick to getting the Dreamcast to use DSL and a router (D-Link I-604e in my case) was to NOT set the IP Address and DNS IPs; set those all to 0.0.0.0 -- ONLY the Gateway gets set to the gateway used by your ISP OR the gateway used by The DSL Router. The Subnet mask stays 255.255.255.0.

There you have it, after 5 years -- big fucking deal-ee-o!


_________________


smile.....anyway!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
paulzy
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 290
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Jan 13, 2006 4:15 pm    Post subject: I lied Reply with quote
 
I actually DO recall playin PSO once with my BBA. But, I elive it was only one, eause soon therafter my 3 month subscription ran out, and noone was willin to play with anyone from the US.

So that was that.


_________________


smile.....anyway!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
gadmin
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 25 Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Photillium

PostPosted: Mar 23, 2006 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
 
Here is how I connected my Dreamcast to my ZyXEL DSL Modem / D-Link DI-104 DSL Router to share a DSL connection with my two PCs and PS2.
The Dreamcast and PS2 share the same cable for now. When I get another CAT 5e or CAT6 cable, then they both will have thier own.

Link #1 : The CAT 5e cable connected to the Dreamcast Broadband Adapter
Link #2 : The cables connected to their various ports: PC1 on port 1, the Dreamcast/PS2 on 2, PC 2 on 3, and the 4th is empty - for now.
Link #3 : The lights for each DSL connection.

So I just connected my router to my DSL modem and each cable connected to each machine into the router.
It works for me, it should work for you, if I understand your question correctly. The Dreamcast DSL connection was used briefly before the USA PSO servers were shut down.


_________________
A picture is worth a thousand words.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic    .netBoard! Forum Index -> Open Discussion for Dreamcast All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

.netBoard! uses phpBB © 2008 phpBB Group
Paul James Chatman © 1996 - 2009
Galaxian Theme 1.0.2 by Twisted Galaxy